Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "Mojo Presents... Mott The Hoople"

Sleeve and track listing

Sony Music 512777. (4.5 stars!)

  1. All The Young Dudes
  2. Honaloochie Boogie
  3. All The Way From Memphis
  4. Alice
  5. Hymn For The Dudes
  6. Through The Looking Glass
  7. Violence
  8. Crash Street Kidds
  9. Pearl 'n' Roy (England)
  10. Ballad of Mott The Hoople
  11. Ready For Love/After Lights
  12. I Wish I Was Your Mother
  13. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  14. Roll Away The Stone
  15. Jerkin' Crocus/Sucker/Violence (live medley)
  16. Marionette
  17. Saturday Gigs


At long last, a compilation CD to cheer about! Unlike some earlier efforts (such as Super Hits and London To Memphis) which borrowed heavily from the Dudes album, this one borrows from the more commercially successful (in the UK at any rate) Mott and Hoople albums, and is much the stronger as a result.

Look at what you get: most of the UK singles (minus the lame Foxy Foxy), including the single version of Roll Away The Stone (the US compilations always include the album version for some strange reason) - Mott's biggest-selling single, the single version of Memphis, essential album tracks such as Ballad of Mott, ...Mother and Ralpher's guitar showcase Ready For Love/After Lights, rarely-included tracks like Alice and Pearl 'n' Roy and the rare, never-before-on-CD live medley that formed the b-side to Saturday Gigs. Add to that excellent sleeve notes by Phil Sutcliffe. Oh, and excellent sound quality. I can't really fault it. Absolutely, the essential introduction to Mott The Hoople.