Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "London to Memphis"

Sleeve and track listing

Sony Special Products A22677. (2 stars!)

  1. All The Way From Memphis
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Honaloochie Boogie
  4. Jerkin' Crocus
  5. Ready For Love/After Lights
  6. All The Young Dudes
  7. Ballad of Mott The Hoople
  8. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  9. Roll Away The Stone
  10. One of the Boys

Sleeve variations

Original 1991 issue


In the early 1990's, Sony in the States were planning a boxed set of their Mott the Hoople back catalogue. Everything was to be remastered, lavish sleeve-notes, full cooperation of the band, etc. Then it all went quiet, and this compilation crept out instead on Sony Special Products in 1991.

As a "best of" compilation, it isn't much cop. The title is naff (Mott came from Hereford, not London), half the tracks are from the All the Young Dudes album, and once again we have the album version of Roll Away The Stone. There are no rarities, B-sides or any live material. There are no sleeve-notes, not even a discography. The sound quality is also poor, all the tracks being somewhat compressed. It is obvious that this was compiled by someone who didn't know Mott's music - why (for examply) is the final second of Momma's Little Jewel tacked on to the start of All The Young Dudes?

In short, a poor compilation that will only be of interest to the die-hard "must have everything" fanatics. That boxed set, BTW, eventually came out in 1993.