Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter CD: "Live At Rockpalast"

Sleeve and track listing

MIG 90402 CD (4 stars!)

  1. FBI
  2. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  3. Angeline
  4. Laugh At Me
  5. Irene Wilde
  6. I Wish I Was Your Mother
  7. Just Another Night
  8. We Gotta Get Out Of Here
  9. Bastard
  10. All The Way From Memphis
  11. Cleveland Rocks
  12. All The Young Dudes
  13. Slaughter On 10th Avenue

Recorded 19th April 1980. The notes actually say "...the night of 19/20th April...", which just means the gig went on over midnight.


I was rather apprehensive when I first put this CD in the player. Another show from 1979-80? There have been a few over the years, from the official Welcome To The Club, the semi-official Missing In Action to the bonus disc on You're Never Alone With a Schizophrenic (30th Anniversary edition). Do we really need another? Well, yes... and no.

This CD is actually a companion to a live DVD from the acclaimed German series Rockpalast. Video from this has circulated amongst fans for may years, so an official release of a 1979/80 show is to be welcomed. The sound is clear, with Ronson high in the mix (where he belongs). As such, it sounds remixed from the video the fans are used to. Maybe a slight echoey feel but I'll put that down to the hall acoustics.

A shortened set - there's no Standin' In My Light, Life After Death or other regulars from that era, but that's the restrictions of TV for you. But the inclusion of both FBI and Slaughter on 10th Avenue are welcome.

That said, this CD is more for completists. The DVD is, of course, more than welcome. But as a stand-alone release this CD offers little that hasn't been said already.