Ian Hunter LP/CD: "You're Never Alone With a Schizophrenic"

Sleeve and track listing

CHRX 1214 / 50999 698134 2 9. (5 stars!)

Disc 1

  1. Just Another Night
  2. Wild East
  3. Cleveland Rocks
  4. Ships
  5. When the Daylight Comes
  6. Life After Death
  7. Standin' In My Light
  8. Bastard
  9. The Outsider
  10. Don't Let Go (demo)*
  11. Ships (take 1)*
  12. When The Daylight Comes (early version)*
  13. Just Another Night (early version)*
  14. Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On*
  15. Ships (early version)**
  16. Just Another Night (electric)**

*Bonus track on 30th Anniversary 2-CD issue

**Download only - not on the CD!

Disc 2

  1. FBI*
  2. Once Bitten Twice Shy*
  3. Life After Death*
  4. Sons And Daughters**
  5. Laugh At Me**
  6. Just Another Night**
  7. One Of The Boys**
  8. Letter To Brittania From The Union Jack***
  9. Bastard***
  10. All The Way From Memphis*
  11. Cleveland Rocks*
  12. All The Young Dudes**
  13. When The Daylight Comes*
  14. Sweet Angeline*

*Live, Agora Ballroom, Cleveland OH 18th June 1979

**Live, Hammersmith Odeon, London 22nd November 1979

***Live, Berkeley Community Theatre, Berkeley CA 7th July 1979

Sleeve variations

The US CD sleeve

The original UK sleeve


Ian came back after a two-year absence in 1979 with this album. Mick Ronson was back on guitar, and Bruce Springsteen's E-Street Band were the backing musicians (they had just worked on Meat Loaf's Bat Out of Hell album).

This was issued on CD on Chrysalis in the UK in 1994, and on Razor & Tie in the USA in 1995. The UK release a limited-edition "25th Anniversary" edition, in a long (blue) box, with a blue jewel-case and booklet (which was about Chrysalis generally, not Ian). Sound quality is very good. No bonus tracks.

1999 has seen this CD reissued in the UK, this time on the EMI label as part of their "Classic Rock" series. It boasts new sleeve notes, and improved (remastered) sound quality.

2009 saw a 2-CD issue with a wealth of bonus tracks and a second disc of previously-unreleased live material. As a live document the second disc works very well, despite being recorded at a variety of venues.

Of the bonus material on the first disc perhaps the most interesting is the early version of Just Another Night which features radically different lyrics, showing how such a classic song can develop from the initial germ of an idea to the finished product.

Terms and conditions.

Copyright © 1996-2017 Adrian Perkins