Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "All The Young Dudes (2CD)"

Sleeve and track listing

BB 2226. (1.5 stars!)

Disc 1:

  1. Long Red
  2. The Original Mixed-Up Kid
  3. Walkin' With A Mountain
  4. Laugh At Me
  5. Thunderbuck Ram
  6. Jerkin' Crocus
  7. Sucker
  8. Hymn For The Dudes
  9. Ready For Love
  10. All The Young Dudes

Disc 2:

  1. One Of The Boys
  2. Sweet Angeline
  3. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  4. Roll Away The Stone/Sweet Jane
  5. All The Way From Memphis
  6. No Wheels To Ride
  7. Whiskey Women
  8. It'll Be Me
  9. Born Late '58


Hear that? It's the sound of me screaming at the prospect of reviewing yet another compilation of previously-issued live material. It's not as if there have been half a dozen compilations of this material already. To confuse matters further, All The Young Dudes was the name of Mott's 1972 breakthrough album. To add insult to injury there is also a single-CD compilation, also called All The Young Dudes, that duplicates disc 1!

Here we get a second disc of material, so we get two 2-CD sets (ie four discs) compiled onto two CDs. I can't help feeling a single CD compilation would have been better as a "sampler".

It gets worse. The cover is the same as for the single-CD compilation (although here it is in black-and-white). But the hapless purchaser doesn't even get a booklet, so there's no information on who Mott were or where the individual tracks were recorded.

I cannot recommend this set at all. There are better compilations around. Save your money and avoid this set.