Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "Walkin' With The Hoople"

Sleeve and track listing

Snapper Music SMDCD518. (1.5 stars!)

Disc 1

  1. Walkin' With A Mountain
  2. It'll Be Me
  3. Drivin' Sister
  4. All The Young Dudes
  5. Sweet Angeline
  6. No Wheels To Ride
  7. Whiskey Women
  8. All The Way From Memphis
  9. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
  10. Angel Of Eighth Avenue

Disc 2

  1. Long Red
  2. Laugh At Me
  3. Thunderbuck Ram
  4. Keep A Knockin'
  5. Jerkin' Crocus
  6. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  7. Roll Away The Stone/Sweet Jane
  8. Born Late '58
  9. Hymn For The Dudes
  10. Marionette


Oh dear. Another month, another Mott The Hoople compilation. This one is a 2-CD collection taken from previous Angel Air releases, Stockholm To Philadelphia and Two Miles From Live Heaven. So far, so good - in theory. Except that we've already had one compilation of these releases, Hoopling - Best Of, which did a rather good job of introducing the casual fan to these releases on a single CD.

So why another compilation, this time as a 2-CD set? The selection here is poor and somewhat unbalanced, with disc 1 being taken from disc 1 of Live Heaven, leaving disc 2 to cover the other three discs (and itself being skewed in favour of Live Heaven). I would have preferred a more balanced approach, with equal treatment given to both sets.

The booklet is reasonable, containing a potted history of Mott The Hoople, but no indication is given of where each track was recorded or the set it comes from, leaving the hapless purchaser none the wiser. If this release was meant to introduce the casual fan to the Angel Air Mott The Hoople live releases, it has failed.

In conclusion, I can see no point to this release at all. The casual fan would be better off spending his money on Hoopling - Best Of. For completists only.