Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter CD: "The Singles Collection 1975-83"

Sleeve and track listing

Cherry Red GLAM CDD 132. (5 stars!)

Disc 1

  1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  2. 3,000 Miles From Here
  3. Who Do You Love?
  4. Boy
  5. All American Alien Boy
  6. Rape
  7. You Nearly Did Me In
  8. Letter From Britannia To The Union Jack
  9. Justice Of The Peace
  10. The Ballad Of Little Star
  11. England Rocks
  12. Wild 'n' Free
  13. When The Daylight Comes
  14. Life After Death
  15. Ships
  16. Wild East

Disc 2

  1. Cleveland Rocks
  2. Bastard
  3. We Gotta Get Out Of Here
  4. Medley: Once Bitten Twice Shy/Bastard/Cleveland Rocks (live)
  5. Sons And Daughters (live)
  6. One Of The Boys (live)
  7. Lisa Likes Rock 'n' Roll
  8. Noises
  9. All Of The Good Ones Are Taken
  10. Death n Glory Boys
  11. Traitor
  12. Somethin's Goin' On
  13. All Of The Good Ones Are Taken (slow version)


This is more like it - a compilation with a difference. This collects together all the singles released by Ian Hunter between 1975 and 1983 - tracks that have until now been scattered over many different CDs as bonus tracks. Not only that - you get the b-sides as well. There's more. They're in chronological order as well, rather than having "the hits" first and the less successful tracks later on. Then there's the sleeve notes - well written, with informative background to each tracks. The sound quality is excellent as well - Tim Turan (who mastered the recent Slade and Status Quo reissues) has done an excellent job.

Where single version are different from album version you get the single - hence you get the rare version of All American Alien Boy (a different take/mix, not just an edit), the non-LP England Rocks and the rare live non-LP B-side One Of The Boys. The price is good as well. All in all, an excellent 2-CD collection.