Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople LP/CD: "The Collection"

Sleeve and track listing

Castle CCSLP 174. (5 stars!)

Side 1

  1. Golden Opportunity
  2. All The Way From Memphis (live)
  3. One of the Boys
  4. Roll Away the Stone
  5. Sucker
  6. You Nearly Did Me In

Side 2

  1. Sweet Jane
  2. All the Young Dudes (live)
  3. Crash Street Kidds
  4. Stiff Upper Lip
  5. Jerkin' Crocus
  6. Violence

Side 3

  1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  2. Ready For Love
  3. Marionette
  4. Drivin' Sister
  5. Rose
  6. Hymn For the Dudes

Side 4

  1. Saturday Gigs
  2. Where Do You All Come From
  3. It Takes One To Know One
  4. Rest In Peace
  5. Sweet Angeline (live)
  6. Walkin' With a Mountain (live)


This strong compilation from Castle came out in 1987. It has all the hits (except that Roll Away The Stone is the album version), a strong selection of B-sides and LP tracks, plus two tracks each from (solo) Ian Hunter and (Hunter-less) Mott.

The version of Crash Street Kidds included here has been edited, and omits the first verse. The live version of All The Way From Memphis contains Ian's spoken intro, but is otherwise identical to the live album version.

The live version of Walkin' With a Mountain included here is the full ten-minute version, including all the guitar and drum solos which (for space reasons) were edited out of the live album. Note that this is not on the CD - it can only be found on the 2-LP version. And it is still (2017) unreleased anywhere else!