Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "The Collection"

Sleeve and track listing

Sony (3 stars!)

  1. All The Young Dudes
  2. Roll Away The Stone
  3. Sweet Jane
  4. All The Way From Memphis
  5. Momma's Little Jewel
  6. Whizz Kid
  7. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  8. Stiff Upper Lip
  9. Alice
  10. Sucker
  11. Ready For Love/After Lights
  12. Foxy Foxy
  13. Monte Carlo
  14. Good Times
  15. Storm
  16. Crash Street Kids


Another year, another compilation. This was issued in 2010 with little or no fanfare. A mish-mash of Mott The Hoople album tracks and singles, together with some MOTT tracks as well. Sweet Jane is the album version, as is Roll Away The Stone. Whizz Kid is complete (hurrah!) with both 'moan' and coda, but there are no b-sides. There are a few (Hunter-less) MOTT tracks (seemingly chosen at random), but why is the weak Foxy Foxy on here? All in all, this seems a pretty pointless compilation. For the casual fan, there are better introductions to CBS-era Mott The Hoople. For the more dedicated fan there is nothing new here. For completists only.