Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott LP/CD: "Shouting and Pointing"

Sleeve and track listing

Rock Candy CANDY246. (4 stars!)

  1. Shouting And Pointing (4:34)
  2. Collision Course (3:25)
  3. Storm (5:31)
  4. Career (No Such Thing As Rock 'n' Roll) (5:26)
  5. Hold On, You're Crazy (4:31)
  6. See You Again (4:22)
  7. Too Short Arms (I Don't Care) (4:00)
  8. Broadside Outcasts (3:18)
  9. Good Times (3:57)
  10. Too Short Arms (I Don't Care) (Electric Lady mix) (4:14)1

1 Bonus track on the 2014 reissue


Mott's second album, recorded in the Spring of 1976. With all the band members contributing to the song-writing, the result is an altogether stronger album than its predecessor. Ray Major's guitar is kept back in the mix, with prominence going to Morgan Fisher's keyboards.

Shouting And Pointing is a fine opening number, while Collision Course features a great hook and is as good a song as any they wrote after Hunter's departure. Storm is a full-on rocker (which translated well live). Career, meanwhile, showed their softer side featuring some great lyrics by Nigel.

Overend Watts again steps up to the mic for Hold On, You're Crazy. Too Short Arms (I Don't Care) is another infectious rocker, and Good Times finished the album off in fine, rousing style.

The 2014 reissue (on Rock Candy) saw the of an alternate mix of Too Short Arms (I Don't Care), comprehensive sleeve notes (by Campbell Devine) and an afterword by Joe Elliott.