Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter unofficial CD: "Rockin' Robin"

Sleeve and track listing

Handmade For Fans #5. (5 stars!)

Disc 1

  1. Never Trust A Blonde
  2. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  3. Cleveland Rocks
  4. Lounge Lizard
  5. Standing In My Light
  6. Just Another Night
  7. All The Way From Memphis
  8. Old Records Never Die
  9. Irene Wilde
  10. Letter To Britannia From The Union Jack
  11. The Moon Upstairs/Rock 'n' Roll Queen
  12. 23A Swan Hill
  13. I Wish I Was Your Mother
  14. Resurrection Mary

Disc 2

  1. Ships
  2. Michael Picasso
  3. Bastard
  4. Roll Away The Stone
  5. Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  6. Honaloochie Boogie
  7. Saturday Gigs
  8. Walkin' With a Mountain
  9. Boy
  10. All The Young Dudes
  11. All of the Good Ones Are Taken 1
  12. 3000 Miles From Here 1
  13. The Original Mixed Up Kid 1

Recorded at the Robin 2 club, Bilston UK on 17th April 1999 except 1 recorded 16th April.


Ian played two dates at the Robin 2 club in Bilston, Wolverhampton in April 1999. The second date coincided with the first-ever Mott The Hoople fan convention, so it was inevitable that one of these shows would show up sooner or later.

And what an excellent set this is. OK so it's on CD-R but who cares - its the quality of the music that counts, and here it is excellent. It's an audience recording, but don't let that put you off - it seems these guys have got audience recording down to a 't'. Audience chatter someties intrudes, but the band are crisp and clear, with no noticeable distortion or compression.

If you were there then I don't need to tell you what a fabulous two nights these were. If you weren't... then this set will demonstrate just what you missed. Joe Elliott (of Def Leppard) makes an early appearance for Memphis, and a little while later Ian calls out "Phally! Get up here!", but its the encores where the fun really starts.

Up stepped Phally at last and then a well-oiled Ariel Bender for the old Mott showcase Walkin' With A Mountain. The fun wasn't over yet, as Joe Elliott again took on vocal duties for Boy (ably assisted by the audience) before Dudes (this time with Blue Weaver on keyboards) brought the house down.

All the excitement is here on these two discs, together with bonus tracks from the Friday night's performance that didn't make it to Saturday. Highly recommended.