Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople/Ian Hunter CD: "Old Records Never Die"

Sleeve and track listing

Shout 826663-10970. (4 stars!)

Disc 1: Mott The Hoople

  1. Rock And Roll Queen
  2. Walkin' With a Mountain
  3. Whiskey Women
  4. Sweet Angeline
  5. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
  6. All The Young Dudes
  7. Sweet Jane
  8. Sucker
  9. All The Way From Memphis
  10. Honaloochie Boogie
  11. Violence
  12. Ballad Of Mott The Hoople
  13. Roll Away The Stone
  14. Crash Street Kidds
  15. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  16. Saturday Gigs

Disc 2: Ian Hunter

  1. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  2. Who Do You Love
  3. 3000 Miles From Here
  4. You Nearly Did Me In
  5. Justice Of The Peace
  6. Cleveland Rocks
  7. Just Another Night
  8. Ships
  9. When The Daylight Comes
  10. Old Records Never Die
  11. Central Park 'n' West
  12. Speechless
  13. Women's Intuition
  14. The Artful Dodger
  15. Still Love Rock 'n' Roll
  16. Words (Big Mouth)


Hard on the heels of The Journey (a 3-CD UK compilation) we get another compilation of Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter, this time originating from the States. The neat thing is one disc is Mott and the second disc is Ian.

For Mott all the choice album tracks are here, although I would have preferred the single version of Roll Away The Stone (American compilers always go for the album version, which I feel is inferior featuring as it does Bender on guitar instead of Mick Ralphs).

The same can be said for the Ian Hunter tracks - a strong collection, save perhaps for the inclusion of Artful Dodger which is one of the weaker tracks on that album. Fans will always argue over which tracks to include or leave out, but what is here is a good balance.

There's a good booklet, half of which is devoted to Mott and the other half to solo Ian Hunter. Sound quality is excellent throughout.

If you're new to Ian and Mott, and are looking for a compilation that takes in nearly 40 years of great music, this is as good a place as any to start.