Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople CD: "Live Dudes"

Sleeve and track listing

Demon 50147. (4 stars!)

  1. Intro
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Sea Diver
  4. Sucker
  5. Hymn For The Dudes
  6. Sweet Angeline
  7. One Of The Boys
  8. Midnight Lady
  9. All The Young Dudes
  10. Honky Tonk Women
  11. The Original Mixed Up Kid
  12. Walkin' With A Mountain
  13. Laugh At Me
  14. Thunderbuck Ram


Another month, another repackaging of the Stockholm To Philadelphia 2-CD set, again as a single CD. This is a much better package than the Greatest Hits Live set, achieveing a better balance between the two sets.

The intro Jupiter is omitted from the Philly show, as is Jerkin' Crocus and Ready For Love, and the whole is presented out of real-time order, but the editing is well done and unless you compared the two you wouldn't really notice. The four tracks from Stockholm are also a good representation of that set, and again are well put together.

The CD comes with a new set of sleeve notes, written by Keith Smith of the Mott The Hoople Appreciation Society. If you can't get the Stockholm To Philadelphia 2-CD set, then this is a worthy sampler of that release, better than Greatest Hits Live any day. If however you already have Stockholm... then this may only appeal if you're a fanatical completist.