Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople unofficial CD: "Island Farewell"

Sleeve and track listing

Rock 'n' Roll Circus #2. (3.5 stars!)

  1. One Of The Boys
  2. The Ballad Of Mott The Hoople
  3. Darkness Darkness
  4. Sweet Angeline
  5. Thunderbuck Ram
  6. Mr Bugle Player
  7. Honky Tonk Woman
  8. Till I'm Gone
  9. The Moon Upstairs
  10. Rock 'n' Roll Queen
  11. Midnight Lady

All tracks recorded 6th April 1972


As most fans know, Mott The Hoople "split" after a disastrous gig in Zurich, Switzerland in late March 1972. However, they were "persuaded" to fulfil their contractual obligations, which included the "Rock 'n' Roll Circus" tour in April of that month. This is the second gig from that tour, recorded at Wolverhampton Civic Hall. The source is an audience tape.

Mott are on fine form here. They'd already met David Bowie, and possibly already had Dudes in the can. They knew they were leaving their old label (Island) - hence the title of this recording - so the future looked somewhat brighter than it had just a few weeks previously. Already the split has been immortalised in The Ballad of Mott as they tease the audience with both old and new material.

The show includes Hunter's brilliant interpretation of Dylan's Mr Tambourine Man, here as Mr Bugle Player and Mick Ralphs' seldom-heard Till I'm Gone. The sound quality and balance is good throughout, demonstrating that some cleaning-up has been done on the tape that is in circulation. There is little distortion or compression and the audience rarely intrudes.

As the second in the Rock 'n' Roll Circus series, the jewel-case insert lacks the track-by-track notes of later issues, but depicts an amusing post-card of the lads "relaxing before the big gig" (England in early April does not have sun-bathing weather!).

To summarise, a good recording that will appeal to any Mott The Hoople fan. Recommended.