Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Steve Hyams CD: "Mott the Hoople Featuring Steve Hyams"

Sleeve and track listing

SEACD 7. (2 stars!)

  1. Dear Louise
  2. Brother Soul
  3. Hot Footin'
  4. Wild In The Streets
  5. 1, 2, 3, 4 (Kickalong Blues)
  6. World Cruise


In early 1977, just after Nigel Benjamin left, a friend of the band, Steve Hyams, asked Mott to back him on some demos he was making (they had already helped out on some 1974 demos). Around the same time, there was talk of resurrecting the Mott The Hoople name, partly out of desparation (the Mott The Hoople name was effectively all they had left).

Steve then received an offer from the States, and so departed. After a week or so, the others saw sense and dropped the idea of resurrecting the Mott The Hoople name.

These demos eventually surfaced in 1993, on the See For Miles label (SEACD 7 ). Steve Hyams' management was told this was on condition they did not use the Mott The Hoople name. The style is closer to British Lions than Mott.

This album can prove difficult to find. Some on-line stores carry it, although it is often mis-titled as Live. It isn't, of course, but the clue to identifying this album is the label, See For Miles.