Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter LP/CD: "Overnight Angels"

Sleeve and track listing

Sony/Columbia 474781-2. (2.5 stars!)

  1. Golden Opportunity (4:31)
  2. Shallow Crystals (3:58)
  3. Overnight Angels (5:12)
  4. Broadway (3:46)
  5. Justice of the Peace (3:01)
  6. (Miss) Silver Dime (4:34)
  7. Wild n' Free (3:08)
  8. The Ballad of Little Star (2:32)
  9. To Love a Woman (3:54)
  10. England Rocks1 (2:53)

Running time: 37m 33s

1bonus track on the remastered CD.


After receiving (and turning down) several offers in 1976, Ian realised he wanted to be in a band again. After the less than commercial success of Alien Boy, he went in to the studios wanting to record fast songs again (having recorded Alien Boy never wanting to do a fast song again!). With Roy Thomas Baker producing (he had produced several Queen albums), this should have been a monster.

The result could almost be described heavy metal - it is certainly not a typical Ian Hunter album. The rockers are certainly there, but the production is too thin - everything is at the same level in the mix (up front!), with Ian's voice almost drowned out at times.

Released when punk was at its height, the album and subsequent tour received mixed reviews. Columbia in the States was more forthright - they refused to release it (although a few test pressings exist). Ian would soon part company from CBS/Columbia and Fred Heller (his manager), and soon disowned the album, describing it as "that horrible album" and "a mistake", and hasn't played any track from it in concert since.