Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter live DVD: "Just Another Night"

Sleeve and track listing

Secret Films SMADVD 214X (5 stars!)

  1. Rest In Peace
  2. Rock 'n' Roll Queen
  3. Once Bitten Twice Shy
  4. Twisted Steel
  5. I Wish I Was Your Mother
  6. Knees Of My Heart
  7. 23A Swan Hill
  8. Irene Wilde
  9. The Truth, The Whole Truth, Nuthin' But The Truth
  10. Rollerball
  11. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
  12. Roll Away The Stone
  13. Saturday Gigs
  14. All The Young Dudes
  15. The Journey
  16. Dead Man Walkin'
  17. Just Another Night
  18. Cleveland Rocks
  19. Michael Picasso
  20. Standin' In My Light
  21. All The Way From Memphis

Region-free (PAL) DVD. 16:9 picture.


This is that rare beast: a live DVD that captures the live experience perfectly. While most bands record their shows over several nights, Ian took a risk in recording just one night's show. This has paid off handsomely, in capturing Ian at his sparkling best.

A packed Astoria saw Ian and his Rant Band (named after his 2001 studio album Rant) deliver the goods. With 35 years worth of material to choose from, Ian is able to keep coming back year after year and still keep the set-list sounding fresh. Newer numbers such as Rollerball rub shoulders with older numbers such as Rock 'n' Roll Queen, The Truth..., the fabulous Journey medley (all of which were being given an airing after a long absense) as well as established classics such as 23A Swan Hill, Just Another Night and Cleveland Rocks.

Joe Elliott (of Def Leppard) joined the band on stage for All The Young Dudes, but the surprises didn't end there, as Ian brought Brian May on for a rousing All The Way From Memphis. A fabulous end to a fabulous gig.

The concert runs to about two hours. In addition, there is a lengthy interview with Ian as well as footage of the soundcheck and a biography. The show is also available on CD as The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nuthin' But The Truth.

Fabulous, just fabulous.