Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

David Bowie LP/CD: "Hunky Dory"

Sleeve and track listing

  1. Changes
  2. Oh! You Pretty Things
  3. Eight Line Poem
  4. Life On Mars?
  5. Kooks
  6. Quicksand
  7. Fill Your Heart
  8. Andy Warhol
  9. Song For Bob Dylan
  10. Queen Bitch
  11. The Bewlay Brothers
  12. Bombers
  13. The Supermen (alternate version)
  14. Quicksand (demo)
  15. The Bewlay Brothers (alternate version)


Bowie's second album with Mick is an altogether better product than its predecessor. Recorded with the soon-to-be Spiders, this can be down to Mick's arrangements and his playing. Fast and furious when need be, he is also laid back and restrained when required.

Not a hit at first, it achieved major success when Ziggy Stardust gave Bowie his long-awaited commercial breakthough. Along with Ziggy, an essential purchase for fans of classic 70's rock.