Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter CD: "Ian Hunter's Dirty Laundry"

Sleeve and track listing

Cherry Red CDM RED 321. (3 stars!)

  1. Dancing on the Moon (5:24)
  2. Another Fine Mess (3:28)
  3. Scars (5:04)
  4. Never Trust a Blonde1 (5:19)
  5. Psycho Girl (2:48)
  6. My Revolution (4:08)
  7. Good Girls1 (4:01)
  8. Red Letter Day (5:11)
  9. Invisible Strings (3:53)
  10. Everyone's a Fool (2:41)
  11. Junkee Love (2:46)
  12. The Other Man (5:23)

Running time: 50m 12s

1 Not on the 2023 vinyl edition


This 1995 album is an oddity. Not quite a full solo album, but more than just a collaboration. It started life as a project by Norwegian keyboardist Casino Steel with Ian invited to sit in in the studio. It soon became much more than that, with Ian writing a number of songs (some of which were written in the studio) and contributing to a few others. More importantly, it marked the return of Ian to the recording studio following the death of his long-time friend Mick Ronson.

With vocal duties shared as well this has something of a "band" feel to it. Despite being recorded at a number of studios, it also has a good live feel to it, which is no bad thing. Dancing On The Moon opens things up nicely, while Another Fine Mess looks back to life on the road with Ronson. My Revolution is another standout track, this time looking back to Ian's Mott days - fans will appreciate the reference to "a revolution for fun", while Ian acknowledges the advancing years in the next line with "you'd better lock up yer mums!" Sheer brilliance.

Darrel Bath's Never Trust a Blonde is great fun, as is Honest John Plain's Psycho Girl and Good Girls. All have a good, earthy 1950's rock n roll feel to them. The album ends with a trademark Ian weepie, this time the great The Other Man in which he forgives his lady but not the guy who shagged her.

This album originally came out with little fanfare in 1995 on a small Norwegian label, with the US label Cleveland International also picking it up. In the days before Amazon, etc, it meant getting hold of copies in the UK was difficult (but not impossible). This release on Cherry Red, therefore, makes it the first time this album has been available in the UK. This time round you also get a good booklet, explaining the background to the recording of the album.

2023 saw another reissue, this time on Big Dipper. We get new sleeve notes, and a vinyl release as well (which omits a couple of tracks).

This is a fun album. Not Ian's best but by no means his worst and certainly worthy of consideration.