Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Ian Hunter LP/CD: "All Of The Good Ones Are Taken"

Sleeve and track listing

Sony/Columbia 474780 2. (1.5 stars!)

  1. All of the Good Ones Are Taken (3:42)
  2. Every Step of the Way (3:55)
  3. Fun (4:21)
  4. Speechless (3:49)
  5. Death 'n' Glory Boys (5:57)
  6. That Girl Is Rock 'n' Roll (3:18)
  7. Somethin's Goin' On (4:33)
  8. Captain Void 'n' the Video Jets (4:12)
  9. Seeing Double (4:24)
  10. All of the Good Ones Are Taken (3:48)
  11. Traitor1

1 Bonus track on the 2007 CD


Ian recorded this album at the end of 1982, and is a real mix of styles. Mick Ronson was absent, as he was seriously considering quitting the music business ("At one point I was even considering becoming a chef" - Mick). Strongest tracks are Speechless (later to be covered by Status Quo), and the title track. Every Step of the Way was also later covered by The Monkees on their Listen To The Band box set.

Side two closes with a slow version of All Of The Good Ones Are Taken, while side one opens with a fast version. The original version was "lost", but the record company persuaded Ian to re-record it ("But I couldn't get the feel back" - Ian). The fast version was released as a single, which was accompanied by a video which was shown for a while on MTV.